Hall Art Foundation
English|Deutsch

For centuries Schloss Derneburg was a convent and later a monastery. In the 19th Century, it became a residence for the Anglo-Hanoverian Dukes of Münster. In 1847, Georg Herbert Fürst zu Münster married his first wife, a Russian princess, Alexandrine Galitzin.  It was on the occasion of their marriage that the Münsters commissioned the Hanoverian architect Georg Ludwig Friedrich Laves to convert the church building into a stately home, transforming much of the former monastery into the castle we know today.

In homage to Alexandrine, we now offer guests traditional Russian teas served with a selection of light Russian snacks, and infused vodkas in the afternoon.  Visitors have access to the salon’s terrace which has unparalleled views of the landscape and are encouraged to linger, read, and learn about the history of our unique venue.