Hall Art Foundation
English|Deutsch
The Passion

Die Hall Art Foundation freut sich, die Gruppenausstellung „The Passion“ an ihrem Standort Schloss Derneburg ankündigen zu können. Im gesamten Kreuzgang des ehemaligen Klosters untersucht die Ausstellung die Darstellung christlicher Ikonographie in der zeitgenössischen Kunst und würdigt die lange Kirchengeschichte von Schloss Derneburg. Die Ausstellung wird etwa einhundert Gemälde, Skulpturen, Videos, Fotografien und Arbeiten auf Papier von neunundzwanzig Künstlern umfassen. Alle Arbeiten stammen aus der Hall Sammlung und der Sammlung der Hall Art Foundation.

 

Derneburg hat eine lange Geschichte. Einst als eine befestigte Anlage errichtet, wurde es im 12. Jahrhundert an das Bistum Hildesheim abgetreten. In den folgenden 700 Jahren diente Derneburg als Sitz verschiedener religiöser Orden: Zuerst den  Augustinerinnen, im Folgenden den Zisterzienserinnen. Während der Reformation übernahmen die protestantischen Herzöge von Braunschweig Derneburg und es wurde zu einem Jungfrauenstift. Mit der Restaurierung ging die Kontrolle über Derneburg an das Bistum Hildesheim zurück und das Anwesen wurde zu einem großen und wohlhabenden Zisterzienserkloster ausgebaut. Die meisten aktuellen Strukturen stammen aus dieser Zeit.

 

Derneburg wurde zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts säkularisiert, als die Preußen diesen Teil Deutschlands übernahmen. Am Ende der napoleonischen Kriege und im Anschluss an den Wiener Kongress ging Derneburg in das Eigentum der anglo-hannoverischen Herzöge von Münster über, die den Hannoveraner Architekten Georg Ludwig Friedrich Laves beauftragten das Anwesen in ihren Landsitz umzuwandeln, den sie dann nutzten, um ihre umfangreiche Sammlung von Kunst und anderen Artefakten zu präsentieren. Im Jahr 1974 erwarben Georg und Elke Baselitz Schloss Derneburg von der Familie Münster, und es wurde für die nächsten dreißig Jahre zu seinem Zuhause und Atelier.

 

2006 verkaufte Baselitz Derneburg an die Halls, die ebenso die angrenzende Domäne Derneburg erwarben (welche von den Münsters am Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges an das Land Niedersachsen verkauft worden war). Bei der Restaurierung des Anwesens wurden im alten Kreuzgang Dutzende von Gräbern entdeckt. Diese wurden im Rahmen einer detaillierten archäologischen Studie sorgfältig katalogisiert. Die Gräber (und die verbleibenden körperlichen Überreste) sind bis heute vor Ort erhalten. Während das Schloss angeblich von einigen dieser früheren Bewohner heimgesucht wird, deuten alle Anzeichen darauf hin, dass diese spektrale Präsenz völlig harmlos ist.


--

Das Hall Art Foundation | Schloss Derneburg Museum ist nur auf Voranmeldung in geführten Gruppen öffentlich zugänglich.

 

Hall Art Foundation | Schloss Derneburg Museum

Visitor Center

Astenbeck 42
31188 Holle
Deutschland

derneburg@hallartfoundation.org

www.hallartfoundation.org

 

 

Für weitere Informationen und Abbildungen, kontaktieren Sie bitte die Geschäftsstelle der Foundation in Vermont unter: + 1 802 952 1056 oder: info@hallartfoundation.org.

Hall Art Foundation
English|Deutsch
The Passion
April - October 2019

The Hall Art Foundation is pleased to announce a group exhibition, The Passion, to be held at its Schloss Derneburg location. Installed throughout the cloister of the former monastery, the show examines the use of Christian iconography in contemporary art, while paying homage to Schloss Derneburg’s long ecclesiastical history. The show will feature approximately one hundred paintings, sculptures, videos, photographs and works on paper by twenty-nine artists. All the works come from the Hall and Hall Art Foundation collections.

 

Derneburg has a long history. Once a fortified dwelling, it was ceded to the Bishopric of Hildesheim during the 12th century. For the next 700 hundred years it then served as the home of various religious orders: first Augustinian nuns, then Cistercian nuns. During the Reformation, the Protestant Dukes of Brunswick took over Derneburg and it became a Lutheran establishment for “young ladies”.  With the Restoration, control of Derneburg reverted to the Bishopric of Hildesheim and the property was developed into a large and prosperous Cistercian monastery. Most of the current structures date from this period.

 

Derneburg was secularized at the start of the 19th century when the Prussians took control of this part of Germany. At the end of the Napoleonic wars, and following the Congress of Vienna, ownership of Derneburg passed to the Anglo-Hanoverian Dukes of Münster who engaged the Hanoverian architect Georg Ludwig Friedrich Laves to convert the property into their country seat which they then used as a showcase for their extensive collection of art and other artifacts. In 1974, Georg and Elke Baselitz acquired Schloss Derneburg from the Münster family and it became the Baselitz home and studio for the next thirty odd years.

 

In 2006, the Baselitz’s sold Derneburg to the Halls who then also acquired the adjacent Derneburg Domain (which had been sold to the State of Lower Saxony by the Münsters at the end of WWII). During restorations to the property, dozens of graves were discovered in the old cloister. These were carefully cataloged as part of a detailed archaeological study. The graves (and their corporeal contents) remain in place to this day. While the Schloss is reputed to be haunted by some of these earlier inhabitants, all indications are that this spectral presence is wholly benign.

 

The Passion will include works by Dan Attoe, Georg Baselitz, Joe Bradley, Rafal Bujnowski, Wim Delvoye, Elmgreen and Dragset, Dan Flavin, Gilbert & George, Damien Hirst, Martin Kippenberger, Guillermo Kuitca, David LaChapelle, Nate Lowman, Markus Lüpertz, Aleksandra Mir, Yoshitomo Nara, Hermann Nitsch, Alessandro Pessoli, Jack Pierson, Arnulf Rainer, Anselm Reyle, Gerhard Richter, Wilhelm Sasnal, Peter Saul, Julian Schnabel, Andres Serrano, Tony Tasset, Bill Viola and Andy Warhol.

 

--

The Hall Art Foundation | Schloss Derneburg Museum is open to the public by appointment only and for guided tours only.


Hall Art Foundation | Schloss Derneburg Museum
Visitor Center
Astenbeck 42
31188 Holle
Germany
derneburg@hallartfoundation.org
www.hallartfoundation.org

 


For more information and images, please contact the Foundation’s administrative office at + 1 802 952 1056 or info@hallartfoundation.org.

 

img

Dan Attoe

Stop Being Such a Fucking Baby, 2006

Neon, wires and transformer; Edition 1/2 + 1 AP

48 x 40-1/2 x 2 in. (122 x 102.5 x 5 cm)

Hall Collection

Courtesy Hall Art Foundation

© the artist

img

Georg Baselitz

die Hamburger Beweinung, 1984

Oil on canvas

98-1/2 x 78-1/2 in. (250 x 200 cm)

Hall Collection

Courtesy Hall Art Foundation

© the artist

img

Joe Bradley

On The Cross, 2008

Grease pencil on canvas

100 x 65 in. (254 x 165 cm)

Hall Art Foundation

Courtesy Hall Art Foundation

© the artist

img

Dan Flavin

Yellow and Pink Flourescent Light, 1969

Flourescent light bulbs (pink, yellow)

24 x 24-1/2 x 5 in. (61 x 62 x 13 cm)

Hall Collection

Courtesy Hall Art Foundation

© the artist

img

Gilbert & George

Christian England, 2008

Comprised of 28 inkjet prints on archival paper dry mounted on 100% cotton rag

100 x 208 in. (254 x 528 cm)

Hall Collection

Courtesy Hall Art Foundation

© the artist

img

Damien Hirst

Rehab is for Quitters, 1998-1999

Plastic skeleton on glass cross with ping pong balls and compressors 31-1/2 x 83 x 106 in. (80 x 211 x 270 cm)

Hall Collection

Courtesy Hall Art Foundation

© the artist

img

Martin Kippenberger

Fred The Frog Rings The Bell, 1990

Carved wood, steel nails; Edition 7/7

51 x 43 x 10 in. (130 x 110 x 25 cm)

Hall Collection

Courtesy Hall Art Foundation

© the artist

img

Hermann Nitsch

Schuettbild mit Malhemd (Pour-painting with painting-action-shirt), 2009
Acrylic, blood on burlap with fabric
201 x 300 cm (79 x 118 inches)

Hall Collection

Courtesy Hall Art Foundation

© the artist

img

Tony Tasset

Coke Can Cross, 2009

Cast aluminum and paint; Edition 2/3 + 1 AP

14 x 12 x 2-3/4 in. (35.5 x 30.5 x 7 cm)

Hall Collection

Courtesy Hall Art Foundation

© the artist

img

Andy Warhol

Christ $9.98 (positive), 1985-86

Synthetic polymer paint and silkscreen ink on canvas

80 x 72 in. (203 x 183 cm)

Hall Collection

Courtesy Hall Art Foundation

© the artist